Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Vegas Strong - We Stand Together



Morning Everyone - today's post is also on Vegas Reviews

Vegas Strong - We Stand Together
Today is a time to reflect on the bravery and courage of the people at the concert, where humanity grows stronger together in times of unspeakable evil.
Throughout the unmistakable chaos there were men and women in shining armour, assisting the injured as best as they could. Some using their own bodies to shield others from the assault of raging bullets.
The wrath of evil may have been present, but in between this terrible war zone, the love for humanity was brought together.

Strangers were helping strangers.

In one instance, a young man was dying, a man from Maple Ridge, B.C., Canada, here in Las Vegas to enjoy the concert.  An American woman (Las Vegas bartender) beside him reached over to help him.

“I reached over and I was holding this guy’s hand, and I could kind of feel him squeeze my fingers and then all of a sudden, like…he wasn’t squeezing my fingers anymore.”

23 year old Jordan McIIdoon died, but he didn't die alone. This woman's small gesture of kindness is a glimpse of how humanity sticks together in times of horror. To Jordon’s last minutes, a touch of kindness helped him, where his soul will most probably take on a new journey into the cosmos of life.

Thrown into the midst of a war zone, humanitarian efforts were evident throughout the horrific evening. People were using their vehicles to race the injured to the hospitals. Others were carrying the wounded to safety. First responders and the Las Vegas Police were protecting and assisting. The whole community of Las Vegas are pulling together to help anyway they can. And it's not over… today, Vegas Hotels and motels are giving free rooms to assist the families of the victims.

It's evident. We are NOT going to let evil win.

In fact, we will be strong for Las Vegas as humanity stands together, in defiance to hatred, where hate has no leg to stand on. Peace and Love is the human way, no matter the colour, race or religion.

Thinking of the strength of humanity, I wrote these lyrics:

We Are The People of the Universe by Bari Demers
We are the people of the universe
We are the people, We are the loving people
We are the beautiful people who rule the earth in love and peace
We the people who stand together in defiance to all types of hatred
We are a force to be reckoned, as we can never be broken
We are the Lovers of humanity
We are the people, the only people of the universe, so far…
May you join us, for We are the loving people
Come forth across the nations
Come together as one, for We are the people of the universe.
BMD

If you like to read more of yesterday's message : Las Vegas Tragedy Brings Humanity Together

If you have words of heroism please share with us here.

I would like to conclude, the grief of the families of the victims is extremely heart breaking, to say the least. My deepest condolences and thoughts are to all those effected.

As a dad who lost his daughter I know how distraught parents, children and loved ones are feeling today - my deepest condolences…

Bari Demers - Vegas Reviews

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Spending your Pennies in Vegas Wisely


 The Palazzo, Las Vegas by Vegas Reviews
                            The Palazzo, Las Vegas photo credit Vegas Reviews

Saving Pennies by Vegas Reviews

Most of us Vegas Lovers are barely getting through life just paying for our bills, taxes, doing our best to look after our kids and grandchildren with what little money we have, so it's a big commitment for us to place down $300 - $400 (per couple) to be able to see a Superstar entertainer. We'll never become the "Whales" of Vegas where money is of little concern. But you know what we do have ? We have our families, our children and grandchildren, who are priceless!

As a Vegas Lover I truly can say we love our time in Vegas and, my wife and I are eagerly saving our pennies for our next vacation. It's never a vacation if you have to come home to paying off your bills, so we save and save, just like a squirrel gathering nuts for the winter. So when it's time to visit Vegas, we're ready to enjoy every minute of our Vaca ( my daughter, Tianndra says that's short for vacation. It's hard to keep up with all the abbreviations - lol).

It's Vegas Baby !

 ARIA Resort, Las Vegas by Bari Demers
 Looking down on the pool scene from the 16th floor of ARIA Resort, Las Vegas Photo credit Vegas Reviews/ Bari 

If you look after your pennies and keep to your budget, Las Vegas can be the most affordable holiday. If you spend all your time in the casinos? Well, no matter how you try, the casino always ends up with your hard earned cash. So it's important to play responsibly and keep to your budget, otherwise you'll end up going home disappointed.

One young couple was a part of my FB Page : Vegas Reviews, you follow today. They were newbies to Las Vegas and didn't heed to my suggestions of keeping to that budget. Both came back, saying," Vegas is overrated."

I have to differ with their words because as us Vegas Lovers know, Vegas has a lot to offer if and only IF you SAVE for your vacation and keep to your BUDGET. In other words, expect to pay $150 - $200 a day per person. Go enjoy your favourite restaurant, tour or entertainment of your choice. Go ahead and sip on that favourite alcoholic drink of your choice, costing you $15 - $30 per drink. Of course it's an expense you normally wouldn't spend at home... BUT YOU ARE ON VACATION. Trust me, when I say you're going to spend that kind of money elsewhere too. Any sweet spot referred to as a popular holiday spot, you're going to spend even more money. Hawaii is a good example, and so is Tahiti and the Caribbean Islands.

The point is, in Las Vegas, you can spend as much as you want or as much as YOU can afford, it's up to YOU.

I suggest save for the next vacation even if it takes 2-5 years. When you're ready, it will be the best VACA you've ever had, simply because you won't have to worry about coming home to bills you can't pay and faced with high credit card charges. It's vital you pay off your credit card statement after each month, otherwise you'll become a slave to society. You'll no longer have the choice to enjoy what YOU want to enjoy, because you're up to your neck, drowning in bills.

Never become a slave and always save your hard-earned money πŸ’°you'll not only pay less in the long run but YOU will enjoy your life more, making your own choices and NOT on the "Treadmill of Life" where others dictate what YOU do.
 Luxor Rooms by Vegas Reviews
     Here's a look at one of the tower rooms at Luxor,Las Vegas Photo Credit Vegas Reviews/Bari

Anyway - I hope you come to enjoy Vegas under a responsible controlled vacation, where YOU makes the choices. I sound like a finance adviser- lol, but I'm not. Just by experience I know how to live within-my-means, meaning I look after my pennies first and foremost.

Hope you enjoy my short article today on spending your pennies in Las Vegas.

Explore my Vegas Reviews and more tips and suggestions on my Vegas Review Website or try my wordpress site too.

Thank you for following me on Vegas Reviews, where I tell you as it is and NOT persuaded or associated by any Vegas business or Resort. I'm just a Vegas Lover enjoying Vegas as much as I can afford - that's all. My wife and I have been going to Vegas since the 1980's. My goodness, that's 37 years - whoa πŸ˜²

Have an awesome weekend in Vegas Everyone - Cheers πŸ»!

Sunday, January 29, 2017

Mandalay Bay Vegas Review



Today I like to mention our experience at Mandalay Bay, Las Vegas. First and foremost, if you're looking for the most excellerating experience in a tour, I highly recommend you try out Maverick Helicopters. All their flights are reasonable, plus you get to see photos, like the one above by Maverick Helicopters.  CLICK HERE for more information.

 MANDALAY BAY, LAS VEGAS REVIEW

Mandalay Bay Resort features 3,309 rooms, such as the "Resort King" or "Resort Queens" room with 550 sq ft, a 42" LED TV along with USB port and Bluetooth. Of course WiFi (high speed internet) is included in your extra Resort fee of $ 32 per day, along with use of the fitness centre, printing out airline boarding passes and local calls.

You can upgrade to the "Bay King" suites offering 610 sq ft rooms. Pick your view preferences, be it overlooking the Vegas Strip, Poolside (Beach view) or Mountain side. A typical "Resort King" room will cost you around $115 per night not including Resort fee. But if you hook up with their email list, they offer better rates throughout the year, depending what's going on. 

If you gamble, there's more special rates as well through MGM Resorts International MLIFE Players Card. I personally enjoy MLife because there's a lot of options, including online
games, such as MVegas Slots, Blackjack and their new myKONAMI slots game, all which allow you to collect gold coins. Depending on many Gold coins you collect, they give you the
opportunity to exchange it for real rewards, such as buffets, free rooms OR upgrades and awesome tours.

Check out the online free games by Play studios.

MANDALAY BAY BEACH PLAYGROUND

Poolside at Mandalay Bay is without a doubt a wonderful experience featuring the famous Mandalay Beach playground with 2,700 tons of real sand (which I love). Cabanas, Day Beds, bungalows and personalized villas are all offered at a price. The Beach playground is so successful, I figure this is why Steve Wynn has decided to begin building this option at his resort too. 

The competition in Las Vegas is definitely fierce 😎 Good for us Vegas
Lovers!

RESTAURANTS

Our experience at the SeaBreeze Cafe was indeed enjoyable, as I ordered my favourite Eggs Benedict and my wife had a stack of pancakes. Both breakfast items were delicious and fresh ! 

The entrance and restaurant decor is a very pleasing atmosphere. 

What I love about SeaBreeze Cafe, the menu offers an all-day breakfast. The prices are reasonable and comparable to other Vegas Resorts. We were impressed with our server. She was cheerful and took the time to ask us how was our stay so far. Asking where we were from, letting us know she serves another guest from our area too. Apparently the other guest is a regular, coming for his weekly holiday every year for the past five years. You could tell right away she's very good at her career, that I would consider professional. 

Of course we left a gratuity!


There's a good assortment of restaurants to choose from, cafe to fine dining 

 CLICK HERE for more information.

The next place I really enjoy for nightlife and dining was the Foundation Room, located on the Top floor. There's an admission charge of $30 but if you go as a dining guest, the admission is complimentary to the Lounge which features an awesome outside view of the Las Vegas Strip. Look through my previous Vegas Photos to see what I mean. It's spectacular!

Read more... 

Overall, Mandalay Bay, Las Vegas is a fabulous Resort for your next visit. The price and accommodations is comparable to the Bellagio, Caesars Palace, Aria, Cosmopolitan and the Wynn. 

I highly recommend Mandalay Bay, Las Vegas.

As always - See YOU in Vegas soon !  AND Join in the fun with the rest of us Vegas Lovers on Facebook with tips, 1000's of Photos and videos and great Vegas Reviews!


By Vegas Reviews 

Sunday, October 23, 2016

Cher By Vegas Reviews


 Photo of Cher by MCM Machado Cicala Morassut


NOTE : Photo is by Machado Cicala Morassut - Please see his website HERE
Good Morning Everyone!
Here's a interview with Cher which I obviously had to share by Las Vegas Weekly. During my lifetime I watched Sonny and Cher, first on the Ed Sullivan Show and then their hip hop Sonny and Cher Comedy Hour in the early 1970's. ( shhhh... I'm not telling my age).
Did you know one of the writers of that show was Steve Martin.
Yes ! Steve Martin ! Go figure ! Isn't that so cool 😎 ?
Sonny wrote a lot of the songs where Cher's voice just killed it ! Her voice is certainly is superior and (must we even mention) a well trained vocalist. During the 1960's the song "I Got You Babe" was a big hit ! I was just 10 years old before I ever heard this song, during their hit Sonny and Cher Comedy Hour, that took off in the early 1970's.

 Cher

It still is one of my favourites.

Before the 1970's they made a bunch of hit songs until around 1967. Now get this, because of their drug-free lifestyle and pop songs they weren't as popular as say the acid rock groups.
Say what ?! Go figure!
SO - like Sonny does, he decides to do shows in ...yup...YOU guessed it - LAS VEGAS !
During their time in Vegas in the late 1960's they did the comedy along with Cher's amazing singing. Apparently during one of their shows, a couple of TV scouts noticed the fun Sonny and Cher.
By 1970 they were on television.
Their show grew into the popular Sonny and Cher Comedy Hour, as I remember it. To me it was a pretty remarkable show. Even after Sonny and Cher broke up, Cher was back in Vegas, this time without Sonny.

 Photo Credit by Bari Demers - The Vegas Strip


I've always loved Cher 😎 So when I finally saw her in person during 2010 at the Caesars Colosseum, Las Vegas, it was certainly a treat!
Now to hear of Cher coming back to Vegas for a final residency, this time as "Classic Cher" at the brand new PARK THEATRE by MGM, is awesome news, as I mentioned last week too.
Do you remember all the photos I shared with you of The Park, Las Vegas ? One of the photos was the PARK THEATRE still being built this past summer. At the time I was wondering who was going to perform in this new MGM Theatre.
 The Park Theater by Bari Demers 2016


Cher is said to begin her new legacy on February 8 2017. WOW!
Cher is just remarkable to say the least. I really don't know Cher (only from her shows) but she seems so sweet during all of her performances, but her recent Twitter wars with Donald Trump is the other side of Cher.
Will the real Cher please stand up.
I get the impression Cher is NOT scared to say what's on her mind. And I guess that's a good thing. With Cher you know what your getting and don't piss her off or else all hell will break loose. At least that's my impression. I sent her a tweet not too worry if Trump gets in, because she's very much welcome to stay in Canada. As a matter of fact I wrote an article about it here :
Hopefully she just might read it - lol.
Oh - BTW - if you missed it - read this other article of mine too - it has what America wants :

 Vegas Reviews

Cher is truly a remarkable and resilient woman who has been in the public eye since she was 16 years old. That's a long time in show business from tours, movies to TV shows. Not too mention her Grammy and Academy Awards!
In this stage of life, (a little pun there) Cher doesn't have to prove anything but to continue what she loves to do. And that is to sing! There's a hint that she will have other guests and high-tech goodies on her new show in Las Vegas. We will all have to see for ourselves.
Believe it or not, Cher and I have two things in common.
We both have asthma and we both do a lot of research. In fact half of my day is research, while the other half is writing.
Oh wait!
Maybe there's three things in common - We are all Vegas Lovers ! This will be the last time for Cher in Las Vegas, so if by any chance, get yourself down to Vegas ! This is the time to enjoy the professional performances of lovely CHER. Get Tickets today!
I missed Cher by the magic number 10 - she's ten years older then me. She was born on May 20 - I was born on May 30th - GO figure!
Is this fate or what - lol.
AND - one of her dates in the Park Theatre at Monte is on her birthday, May 20, 2017.
Anyway - I hope your enjoying your weekend and as always I will see YOU in Vegas! Cher - I got you babe 😎

PS - I have no idea whats going on with Blogger lately - the spaces in my sentences have nothing to do with the way Im writing this article. Blogger has gone crazy!

Friday, September 16, 2016

Loyalty in Las Vegas by Vegas Reviews

Poolside Aria Resort and Casino, Las Vegas


Loyalty in Vegas is indeed the difference from a mediocre hotel to an accomplished 5 star resort.  It means the corporation really does care and looks forward to making your Vegas vacation an enjoyable luxury, you wouldn't normally see at home. 


You'll notice my Vegas blogs will praise resorts that show consistency and rewarding their customers for LOYALTY.

It's all about loyalty don't you think ?


THE IMPORTANCE OF LOYALTY 

Most of us have a passion for our favourite car and will stick by that particular brand.  Sometimes we relate cars with success or luxury. 

Who doesn't love to be treated with luxury? 

Our better half are more likely to pamper themselves by heading to their favourite Spa. The best Spa treating them with exceptional luxury, will leave a lasting impression.  In return, they will keep coming back to Vegas for more. 

Most men and some women love their cars too. 

It seems cars and luxury go hand-in-hand. We love to express our loyalty to our favourite car, as it shows who we are, as a person. In Jay Leno's case, however, he loves ALL types of cars. So he's an exception to the rule.  But for the average population, most of us will boast about our favourite brand. Some will stand by their Mustang, while others love their Mercedes, BMW or Cadillac.  In fact, they will go as far as to argue the reasons why their car is the best from other makes or designs. They ARE indeed loyal! 

Loyalty IS everything.

Loyalty is important to any successful company, who rely on their customers returning for the same products or services.  If the product or service remains the same, we ( the customers) will keep coming back, expecting the luxury we had the last time we visited. 

As Loyalty is the building blocks to a better relationship, so is consistency.


Las Vegas relies on us coming back, therefore they know how important it is to "wine and dine" their patrons using the same consistency.  It's hard to bring a customer to their hotel because of the rising competition, so when they finally get a customer visiting their establishment, it's no wonder they like to show them the very best. 

Lay out the "Red Carpet" if you will; a typical Hollywood standard.

Doing so, the customers may be so impressed, they're willing to come back, holding onto their favourite resort, no matter what the competition has.!

As Said, "...Las Vegas runs on loyalty, counting its success on advertising campaigns, luring its loyal customers back year after year. Some guests will come back, not only once a year, but twice to even four times a year.

God forbid, if the service fails the typical industry standard, falling below that 5 Star value. Sometimes human error is accountable but if the resort had complete control, they truly want customers to enjoy the very best each hotel has to offer.  Mistakes happen, but it's vital the resort reacts, moving  into action, to ensure their guests are compensated.  They never want to leave a bad taste, for their resort.  If they really care and the customer is reasonable, it usually is rectified. It's very much related to an entrepreneurs success, like those on the TV Series,Shark Tank or Dragons Den.  

Bottom line, make your guest comfortable with your product or services.

In the end, each Las Vegas Resort, really do want you leaving their establishment with a good experience, coming back on a yearly basis. 

So, my question today is : 

Which Vegas Resort do you stand behind and you're considered a loyal guest? 

JOIN IN THE FUN WITH MY FACEBOOK PAGE VEGAS REVIEWS

My Facebook Page, Vegas Reviews is also a reflection, sharing my fun in Las Vegas with YOU, the viewer. I will write as much as time permits , revealing everything about Vegas, that's  possible. 

Vegas Reviews will not only showcase Throwback Thursday from time to time (turning back the clock) remembering the colorful history of Las Vegas, but also write short Vegas Reviews, helping out other enthusiasts who are also interested in Las Vegas.

 Luxor Las Vegas Room by Vegas Reviews
Luxor, Las Vegas Room by Vegas Reviews

Check out more Vegas Reviews blogs with  THROWBACK THURSDAY in mind.  I will also write articles about resorts, inside and out  OR if service was favourable, I'll write about this too, including awesome tours!


I love to express the fun !  

Please take the time to read my blogs and I will see YOU in Vegas! 

Thank you for reading and if you like to share your experiences in Las Vegas, just leave your comments below.  ( Note: I always monitor comments before publishing, so please allow for the time to approve them - thank you)

Aria Resort and Casino, Las Vegas by Vegas Reviews



By Bari Demers - screenwriter and considered a Vegas Lover

PS  I should have become a CEO for a luxury resort - lol.

 Promenade at Aria Resort and Las Vegas

Layout map of Aria Resort and Casino - main floor and entrance


#VegasLifestyle #Vegasfun #funvacations #ThrowbackThursday #whatittakes #luxury #HowWeVegas 

Maverick Helicopters was fun and exhilarating by Vegas Reviews

Maverick Helicopters was fun and exhilarating

 Photo courtesy of Maverick Helicopter, Las Vegas
Photo courtesy of Maverick Helicopters, Las Vegas 

5 of 5 stars
We had an excellent trip with Maverick Helicopters. Must try !

The cost was very reasonable in consideration to the actual cost of flying helicopters. Average cost to fly for say one hour cost $450 per person. So, $125 is very reasonable for a trip through the Vegas Strip.

Our flight we picked was the night package, which included pick up to and from our hotel.

I might add, for your own safety, weight distribution is so important on any aircraft, but more so for helicopters.

Being my first ever experience flying in a helicopter, I was pretty amazed with the overall power. Using my imagination, I would like to relate it to riding a bumble bee. ( an analogy)

I highly recommend Maverick Helicopters.

Next time I will try the day flight around Vegas, so I may take some wonderful Vegas photos. If I win in the casino, I would like to try the Grand Canyon Flight.   
 Wind Dnacer Air and Landing Tour
Photo Courtesy of Maverick Helicopters, Las Vegas

This particular flight is called the Wind Dancer Air and Landing Tour features, Quote: "...Lake Las Vegas, Lake Mead, Hoover Dam and Fortification Hill, an extinct volcano, along with many other breathtaking views. Also, keep an eye open for wildlife along the way. 

Maverick's Grand Canyon helicopter tour will descend and land 3,500 feet into the Grand Canyon in Hualapai Indian Territory. Champagne, beverages and a light snack will be served some 300 feet above the mighty Colorado River in one of the greatest natural wonders of the world. "

The Wind Dancer Air and Landing Tour package costs $544 per person, (as of 2016) all included as mentioned above.

It's a fun experience - you gotta try it ! 
 Maverick Helicopter Tours, Las Vegas
Photo Courtesy of Maverick Helicopters 
 When vacationing in Las Vegas, my wife and I love to check out various tours available at a reasonable and affordable price. I believe Maverick Helicopters has satisfied both criteria .

As we haven't tried the Grand Canyon flight yet, its certainly on our list during our next visit to Las Vegas.  We always save up for special featured tours, in order to enjoy Las Vegas as much as possible.  Maverick Helicopters is indeed a wonderful experience for the whole family.

Photo Courtesy of Maverick Helicopters, Las Vegas


My wife and I have been going to Vegas since 1980's - you might consider me as a Vegas Lover. Join us on our Facebook Page Vegas Reviews  ( Note: Please be signed in to your Facebook account in order to reach my Facebook Page) See YOU in Vegas baby!
 Photo poolside at Aria Resort and Casino, Las Vegas by Vegas Reviews


My photo above is poolside at Aria Resort and Casino, Las Vegas from the 16th floor, looking down from our window. What a view!

Monday, July 4, 2016

Luxor Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas Review - 2016


THE ARRIVAL 

My wife and I have been going to Las Vegas since the 1980's.  And yet, we  haven't stayed at the Luxor Hotel and Casino; until now.  Our daughter stayed at this resort a few years ago (located on the south end of the Vegas Strip) so we thought to give it a try. 

We were dropped off by Bell Limousine service at the VIP entrance of the Luxor Hotel and Casino.  The doorman greeted us immediately, offering to hold our luggage so we may check in.  

Arriving at the front desk, we quickly noticed there wasn't the usual line you normally see over at the main walk-in desk by the front entrance of Luxor.  

This west side check-in service desk was indeed a plus.

Our first impression at the front desk was favourable, cheerfully greeted by a female representative.  I asked if it was possible to get the Tower overlooking the pool, as I always love the pool courtyard scene over the Vegas Strip.  

She quickly accommodated us with our request.

It wasn't long before we were headed up to our Westside Tower room, overlooking the pool.  We opened the door and noticed your typical average room with two queen size beds, a regular washroom with a average tub and shower.  And, it was dark.  Surprisingly, there wasn't any mini bar fridge, which was completely fine with us, as we rarely like to use the inflated price of liquor and chips.  After our quick scan of the room, it was time to check out the courtyard pool scene, I so love to see.  

After staying at ARIA Resort and Casino, I was looking for a remote control device or button to open the drapes.  Oops!  Not at Luxor - lol.  Manually I opened the curtains to relish the pool scene below.  To my dismay, the entire west wall and windows were covered with this black netted mesh, making it impossible to take any clear pictures or videos.  

My heart sank.

I thought,"OK. I can deal with this..."  But underneath I was kind of ticked off. I really wanted to able to see the pool scene from my room.  It was then my wife said,"Oh no! This can't be happening?!"  Immediately I turned around to see my wife traditionally folding over the covers of the beds.  To our dismay, my wife was inspecting the grim and dirt from someone else's chips to cheeses, still on the floor by the beds.  Trying to be optimistic, I began cleaning up the mess with my fingers. My wife went over to the closet to check out the safe.  It was basically impossible to see the safe, as it was set in a completely dark area of the Armoire.


After further inspection we realize the lights were burnt out throughout the room.  We both sat on the bed and after much discussion, decided to phone front desk in the attempts to change our room.  I really didn't want to but in the end, my wife was right. So I phoned and talked to a cheerful girl on the other end.  She immediately said it should not be a problem to change rooms, and just make sure you head over to the "drop off key" desk to make your inquiry. 

So - that's exactly what we did. 

Arriving at the "drop off key" desk we patiently waited for service.  We waited and waited, with only one other customer at the Westside Front desk.  There were three employees with one looking after that particular customer.  A women, who seemed to be a manager zipped by us. I quickly caught her attention and explained we were told to meet here to get another room.  She seemed agitated and basically told me to stand in line to be served.  I tried to explain to her, the girl on the phone told us to get service here. She just pointed at the service desk we originally started from, when we arrived.  

Well, whatever.

We patiently waited in line to be served.  Once again, we happen to get the same girl that looked after us in the beginning.  I explained to her,"I'm sorry to say, but our room was dark and dirty...is it possible to get another room?".  She said no problem and began searching.  To make a long story short, we both decided it was best to take the East Tower, after asking if one Tower was newer then the other - lol.  She told me both Towers and rooms are basically the same and there really hasn't been any upgrades to the rooms.  So - we picked the East Tower, which we later discovered, was overlooking the parking lot along the Vegas Strip.  But, on the bright side, the room was a lot cleaner, all the lights worked and the overall room (after inspection) was OK but never the WOW factor.  


We were defiantly spoiled by our last stay at ARIA Resort and Casino. 

It's really not Luxor's fault, in anything they did, as a functioning hotel.  The staff were pleasant throughout our stay, accommodating our wishes, as we requested.  The food, in most part was acceptable. Overall, I found the Luxor Hotel and Casino to be a smooth running machine of knowledgeable staff ready to look after you the best they can.  

THE POOL SCENE

The pool scene was indeed a nice relaxing place to enjoy, as my wife showed off her pedicure overlooking the Grand Luxor Pyramid.  The staff were very friendly and happy.  Only thing I noticed throughout the pool courtyard, were that certain pools were roped off from use, all together. I thought maybe by the afternoon, they would open these areas too.  Nope.  Never happened.  So, basically there were two pools opened.  One for kids and the other mostly adults. 

 Poolside - Luxor

My wife showing off her pedicure Poolside at Luxor Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas







FITNESS CENTRE 

Every morning I would get up early to do my regular workout program at the Luxor fitness centre (also by the pool, west end). Arriving the first time I wasn't sure what the routine was, but the young girls cheerfully greeted me as I entered, stating to just write down your name and room number.  Our Room number for the duration of our stay was 17310.  Entering the room I saw a group of pretty fit individuals working out on various machines, including a bunch doing the weight series.  I'm NOT your typical in shape-kind-of-guy.  At my age, I look after myself, but by no means am I looking like Arnold Schwarzenegger - lol.  The kids now-a-days are geared towards looking after themselves by nutrition and regular exercise.  It's a good thing to see.  Everyone had their routine, as I did, with my 60 minutes on the elliptical trainer.  That's a minute per year - lol.  
Trust me, when I say, their elliptical trainer is a lot easier then mine at home.  It was nice and smooth, a good way to work into your routine, without gasping for air - lol.  Also - everyone was very respectable and courtesy of each other.  Another nice thing to see, now-a-days. 





MLIFE 

During our stay, we made plenty of stops at the MLife desk at the Luxor. Each time we visited, we had excellent service by the group of staff taking turns working here.  A far cry from the ARIA Resort MLife desk, we experienced the previous year.  It only makes sense to utilize your points with MLife, specially if you're staying at a MGM Properties.  Thank you MLife



FOODIE SECTION 

While at Luxor we experienced the buffet, the Pyramid Cafe and Public House.  As the Pyramid Cafe is only open during breakfast and lunch, (Note: NOT a 24 hour Cafe option here) we found the food and service acceptable.  Most of the time, we had a wonderful breakfast with lovely staff attending to our happy vacation. I usually had Eggs Benedict with a side of sausage, as my wife indulged into the layers of pancakes. The only thing, the coffee was bitter tasting, no matter how much sugar or cream you placed in it.  Other then that, each meal was yummy!  



The buffet - oh what can I possibly say about the buffet.  

Years ago, we experienced this same buffet at Luxor Hotel and Casino and found it to be good.  But, unfortunately we couldn't say the same this year (2016).  My goodness, I'm sorry to say, but this buffet has gone downhill since three years ago.  Once again, I can honestly say, the ARIA Resort, Caesars Palace and the Wynn has spoiled us, when it comes to buffets.



The Public House luncheons or early dinners were acceptable entrΓ©es, but I was kind of disappointed we never received any coupons from Luxor, to try out these establishments, like MGM Properties use to.  Once staying at Excalibur Hotel and Casino, we were offered a book of coupons.  Maybe, they decided MLife option is the only way to go now. 

THE MAID SERVICE 

The maid service at Luxor Hotel and Casino works like a smooth machine, attending to our room as expected.  They basically did what was required, but never did anything where the WOW Factor would come into it.  Usually the maids know when a new guest is coming into a room and when each are leaving.  So, it's always nice when they do little extras to make your stay special.  Mind you, I can totally understand they have a whole floor to do and it's not just about us.  It's their typical everyday job with that gruelling routine, day in and day out. 

 Our Room at Luxor Tower



CHECKING OUT 

Another strange thing happened during our last day of Check-Out.
Long before we arrived (2 months ahead actually) we always plan for a "Late Check-Out" realizing it's an extra $25-$30 charge, depending on resort we stay at ; but well worth it! 

Anyway, our Late Check-Out was fixed, as we thought.

Come to our last day we always check our electronic statement on the TV and noticed we had to request the Late Check-Out option.  Huh ? OK.  So we checked off the Late Check-Out, once again. This time we figured it went through and went about our lazy day before going to the airport.  For some reason or another, we had to make a pit-stop at the main front desk (after our late breakfast) to check on something. During our conversation with the front desk clerk, it was quickly realized we still were NOT set for the Late Check-out.  He quickly asked us to return our rooms keys, thinking to myself, we were getting the boot - lol. 



It turns out the clerk advise us the system had NOT given us the Late Check-Out that we claimed twice now.  But, he quickly fixed it and we were on our way.  Before our flight, we usually head to our room an hour or so before we leave, just to be well rested before our flight.  We had no problem with the Late Check-Out after that.  But upon leaving our room for the airport, we noticed the room service maid was patiently waiting for us to leave, in the next room.  As we passed the open room door she politely asked,"Are you finished now?"  My wife said," Yes we are, thank you."



It was then we realized something we hadn't thought of before.  

This poor woman was most probably waiting for us to leave, as we must of been the last ones on this floor.  We thought," Oh no! She can't go home until the whole floor is done!" 



We had thought the cleaning staff had different shifts throughout the whole day and never once, did we think, we were holding up someone before they could go home.  Geez.  We kind of felt bad for her, but the Late Check-Out Service, we really do enjoy. It's like the icing on the cake, where you don't have to lug around your luggage all day, plus you have a nice quiet place to lay down before your late flight.  We use it all the time and find it so relaxing, making our last day not the "dreadful last day" before we go home.  Last day on any vacation can be simply a sad day ; because you had such a good time and you don't want it to end. 

 Luxor, Las Vegas


OVERALL STAY 

Overall, our stay at Luxor Hotel and Casino was a pleasant experience with a fine-tuned working staff who really know what they're doing.  The Hotel itself may require a refurbishing in the near future, but the workers are what make your stay enjoyable.  And that's exactly what we received.  I would recommend Luxor Resort, Las Vegas.  Just to be clear, it's not on the same caliber, as say the Aria Resort and Casino, Vdara, Mandarin Oriental, the Wynn,The Venetian or the Palazzo.  Luxor Hotel and Casino is the prefect place to visit for first timers in Las Vegas along with families.  And the staff are very good at what they do and will do everything in their power to make your stay comfortable. 

Thank you Luxor for your hospitality - we dearly appreciate it! 




ABOUT ME : 

We are tourists.  My wife and I have been going to Las Vegas since the 1980's.   Our very first stay was at the Maxim, Las Vegas ( which is now The Westin Las Vegas Hotel on 160 E Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas).  After that, we have been regular tourists, vacationing at various hotels on the Vegas Strip, like the Aladdin, the Sahara, the Mirage, T.I.(Treasure Island), Caesars Palace, The Venetian, Las Vegas, Monte Carlo, Excalibur, the Bellagio, Las Vegas, the ARIA Resort and Casino and now Luxor Hotel and Casino. 

Our most comfortable stays are with the Venetian, Las Vegas and Aria Resort, including excellent restaurants, such as the Grand Lux Cafe and Delmonico. Numerous other stays have been with Caesars Palace ( three times), along with some of the best entertainment at The Colosseum at Caesars Palace, seeing celebrities such as Cher.  We have also adventured three different  times with Treasure Island (T.I.) Hotel and Casino.  

Our next vacation adventure is waiting for us and so far are looking to stay at the Wynn, Las Vegas.  Until next time - See YOU in Vegas! 

Join me on Facebook, Twitter or Tumblr!  After all, it's all about the FUN in Las Vegas with 1000's of photos, videos and some great tips for all.  My FUN work is a freelance writer and screenwriter. 

Disclaimer

Vegas Reviews is in no way associated or related to any hotel or corporation in Las Vegas. Either are we paid to give a review. 

We simply host a FUN Facebook Page - Vegas Reviews featuring the FUN we had in Las Vegas.  Sweet and Simply ! 

See YOU in Vegas ! 




East Tower View at Luxor Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas